Breaking News


Election Commission declares dates of Lok Sabha, Legislative Assembly elections

New Delhi: The Election Commission of India has declared the dates of 2019 General Elections to Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim. The five-year term of the 16th Lok Sabha is due to expire on 03rd June 2019.

The Commission organized a series of meetings with the Chief Electoral Officers (CEOs) of all the 36 States and Union Territories (UTs) to review all the aspects of election preparedness in all the states and UTs and accordingly, appropriate instructions were issued to the CEOs for ensuring efficient conduct of the elections.

The Commission also held meeting with the Chief Secretaries, Directors General of Police, Home Secretaries, Chief Electoral Officers and Police Nodal Officers of all States and UTs on 21s t, 22nd & 28th January 2019, to assess the overall law and order situation, ascertain State/UT specific areas of concern, to deliberate on the quantum of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) required in each State/ UT and to review the overall preparedness of the election machinery.

The cooperation of all authorities was sought for conducting free, fair and peaceful elections across the country, under the overall superintendence, direction and control of the Commission.

All citizens who turned 18 years on 1st January 2019 and registered as electors will get the opportunity to cast their vote in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and in the respective Vidhan Sabha elections of those States where it will be held.

Those who turned 18 years on 1st January 2019 and are eligible, but yet to be registered as electors, they still have opportunities to register as electors.

Through the media, they are requested to apply urgently online through National Voters Service Portal or offline through the BLOs of the concerned polling stations or in the electoral registration office.

Electoral Rolls have been revised with reference to 01.01.2019 as the qualifying date and have been finally published in all the States and the Union Territories. The process of continuous updation of electoral rolls will continue till the last date of filing nominations.

Share This