Breaking News


Nine states, including Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, contribute around 82% of all e-way bills

New Delhi: Nine states, including Gujarat, Karnataka and Maharashtra, contribute around 82 percent of all e-way bills being generated. Said Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi.

"The highest number of e-way bills have been generated by Gujarat (19.39 percent) followed by Karnataka (15.32 percent) and Maharashtra (12.43 percent)," said Modi, who heads the group of ministers on GST-Network.

These three states, along with Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan and Punjab, provide about 82 percent of total e-way bills generated, he said.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi, who also serves as the Bihar Finance Minister, said that since the e-way bill was introduced for intra-state movement of goods in some states since April 15, there has been increasing of 25 percent in the generation of e-way bills, which would rise further.

Expressing confidence on the system to handle the increasing load, he said over 10 lakh e-way bills were generated on Monday without a glitch and that the system is designed to handle more than 75 lakh e-way bills in a single day.

Encouraged by the success of the implementation of inter-state e-way bill nationwide and intra-state in some states, Bihar, Haryana, Jharkhand, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand will also implement it for intra-state movement of goods from Friday.

Earlier, the e-Way bill system for intra-state movement of goods was implemented for Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Kerala from April 15. In Karnataka, it was implemented along with inter-state implementation on April 1.

Share This